Masons' Marks at Holy Trinity Church, Blythburgh, Suffolk
Although they are not mentioned in detail in the present church guide, masons' marks are present throughout the church on every pillar but one. It has been said that until one is shown the marks they are invisible but after being shown them, they are everywhere!
Of the signs used as a manufacturer's signature, owner's mark or trade mark, stonemasons' marks are the ones that have survived in greatest quantities. The simple reason for this is that a sign carved in stone is able to last through the centuries.
Although Strasbourg Cathedral has more than 1500 different signs, Holy Trinity has enough to make their study quite interesting.
The following marks have been collected from the lower parts of the pillars up to the beginnings of the arches. That there are more on the arches themselves, I was able to confirm during an earlier limewashing, when I climbed up on the scaffolding. (Please see Appendix 1 for these marks.)
There are, in addition, more marks on the exterior of the great wooden South Door, together with the date 1629 on the lower left panel.. (See Appendix 2 for these marks.) It would appear that families or fellowships of masons used one basic mark with pieces added, to represent the various members of these families or fellowships. (See Appendix 3 for these variations.)
Churches and other important buildings in one locality may have been built
by the same masons, since their marks and variations can often be seen
in some or all of them . (See Appendix 4 for these churches in Southwold
If this brief paper has whetted your appetite, you might like to ponder the Runic, Phoenician and Greek alphabets, which contain letters that the masons used. (See Appendix 5) All of them have been used by masons and some are in Holy Trinity. So good hunting, they are everywhere!
Article By Richard Maslen, Blythburgh.
Masons' Marks ancient and modern. Myers T.H. 1906
Masons'Marks. Pennick N. Cockayne, Cambridge 1974
Friends of York Minster, 47th Annual Report 1976 p.17
Masons' Marks. Brooks F.W. East Yorkshire Local History Society. 1952
Unpublished theses and studies by local people, York Minster Library. Available on personal request at the Library.
Some Favourite Websites For November 2019:
David Elliott Stained Glass – Unique decorative stained glass, plus courses for all abilities held in a custom-equipped studio
David offers his wealth of experience to create unique stained glass commissions and items for your home. Stained glass courses offered, suitable for all abilities, from beginner to expert. Gift vouchers.
8 The Terrace, Walberswick – Family House in Walberswick for Seven, with WiFi. Own Parking
An Edwardian end of terrace self-catering family house sleeping seven, centrally situated in Walberswick, with own parking for two cars plus bicycle storage. Four bedrooms, original features, well-equipped. Just minutes from beach, shop, village green and handy for both village pubs. House available all year with short breaks available out of season.
1 Little Dingle Cottages – Self-catering accommodation for up to twelve people
This country cottage stands between Dunwich Forest and Dingle Marshes. Apart from the adjacent cottage it is quite isolated, being a mile from Dunwich village. Surrounded by open countryside, marshes, reedbeds and forest. Several major nature reserves are close by, with wildlife and birds to be seen on or near the property. Walks from the cottage. Parking. Pets by arrangement.
Green Haven Holidays - Wheelwrights Cottage – Self Catering accommodation for up to three people + two dogs, in Rumburgh near Halesworth
Just 500 metres to the dog-friendly CAMRA village pub! This beamed cottage has been beautifully modernised to provide one-bedroom accommodation with kingsize bed, plus additional single bed if required. WiFi. Front garden plus rear courtyard with outdoor furniture. Parking for two cars. Pets welcome at no extra charge. Short breaks available. Close to Halesworth and within 20 minutes drive to Southwold on the Suffolk Heritage Coast.
The Southwold Railway Trust – Open days at the Southwold Railway Steamworks project
The Southwold Railway was a 3-foot gauge line running between Halesworth and Southwold, a distance of almost 9 miles. Opened in 1879 and closed in 1929, it is remembered for its tall-chimneyed steam engines. The Steamworks project aims to restore this line.